Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Is hollow point ammunition any noiser than any other ammunition?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
Ain't she sweet?
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6738 Times on 4071 Posts
Likes Given: 8030

Default Is hollow point ammunition any noiser than any other ammunition?

I am very new to guns and the range I'll be going to does not allow hollow point cartridges for target shooting. They said "because of the noise". Is hollow point ammunition any noiser than any other ammunition? Also, I bought some .357 magnum 158 grain loads. When I got them home I saw they were hollow points. I know this is probably a dumb question but are there .357 magnum loads that are NOT hollow points? If so, can you tell me what brands or what I should ask for at the gun shop? Thank you.

Last edited by canebrake; 09-03-2010 at 08:26 PM. Reason: TTTP

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-03-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 5731 Times on 3358 Posts
Likes Given: 4877

I saw some .357 non-hollow points yesterday online, but why not just use .38 special for targets? You can find the .38 special in FMJ easily at the Walmart i visit. I think the .38 is a bit less expensive, as well as easier on the ears & wrist.

edit*
http://www.bulkammo.com/bulk-357-mag-ammo-357mag142fmjtcfiocchi-1000
This is what i saw yesterday & this is a new site vendor. Heck, i'm kinda tempted here, myself.

Dead Bears, the only good kind.

Last edited by orangello; 09-03-2010 at 06:39 PM.