Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   HELP with 40 cal reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/help-40-cal-reloading-17167/)

223fever 08-20-2009 11:37 PM

HELP with 40 cal reloading

I have been reloading for several years mostly 38,357,223. I have just started reloading for 40 cal and have a few questions. ok to start with I have a walther P99 in 40 cal that I want to reload for. I have the press and all componets needed to reload. the set of dies I have, I bought new a few years ago. Hornady custom grade new dimension dies #544533. I have reloaded a few rounds some will chamber in the gun and some hang up. so I took the gun apart and all will fall into the chamber of the gun like they should. the OAL is correct and all measurement are correct according to the reloading book. I have read that the 40 needs a taper crimp I understand that but am not sure about these dies. I tried to crimp a few and it looks like a roll crimp to me. do I need a seperate taper crimp die? the other problem is when I chamber a round in the gun the bullet is sliding further back into the shell as it is going into the chamber. the bullet I am using is the berrys 165 gr. flat point. I have never had a problem with any other bullet in this gun. tell me what I need to do. I may have to switch to a different design of bullet but how do I keep the bullet from sliding back into the shell? sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for the answers.

BILLYBOB44 08-21-2009 03:16 AM

.40 S&W loads.