Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Was this a good deal??? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/good-deal-8876/)

ak-77 12-02-2008 04:18 AM

Was this a good deal???

New to the forum, and going to learn how to reload ammunition soon. I am new to shooting. I got my first pistol, a Glock 23 (40 s&w) a couple of years ago, and just got a Smith & Wesson 1911PD. In Alaska, you don't need a concealed permit to carry concealed, so both of my pistols are fairly small for this purpose.

I haven't bought a press yet, but will probably spring for the RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme kit, but in the meantime, I purchased some empty brass. Being new to this hobby, I don't know if it was a good. Sounded really cheap, so I jumped on it and figured I wouldn't be out a whole lot if it wasn't a good deal.

I got 2000 45 ACP pieces of brass (tumbled and old primer removed) and 2500 40 S&W pieces (tumbled and old primer removed) for $100.00. I bought off of craigslist and the old dude I got them from said they were once fired, but I guess you never really know for sure. He said he is not going to press his bullets anymore, so he needed to get rid of all this brass.

They are all different brands (Winchester, Blazer, CCI, PMC, Federal, etc.)

If anyone can give me a hand, that would be appreciated. I need to know if this was a fair price and are any of these brands non-reloadable?

Thanks.

jeepcreep927 12-02-2008 05:21 AM

If you paid a c note for ALL of that, and it's already deprimed and tumbled: you got a good deal. Anything that is brass or nickel plated is reloadable. Anything that is aluminum is not (CCI Blazer).

robocop10mm 12-02-2008 12:39 PM

There is brass Blaser now. It is reloadable. The aluminum stuff is not. If it has already been de-primed and has one flash hole, it is good to go.