Getting into reloading
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Getting into reloading

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2010, 01:02 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Getting into reloading

Hey all,
I shoot around 200 rounds a week of .38sp, .40, and .45acp, although this might not be a lot to you all, it is a lot for me, and I am a student so money is tough. I think its time I started reloading. I have been looking on midwayusa for kits and came across the Lee Challenger single stage kit. I have read various reviews about the kit and would really appreciate to know what you all think...any help is much appreciated!!

Lee Challenger Press

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-30-2010, 01:33 AM   #2
Crazy Azz Redneck
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1196 Times on 686 Posts
Likes Given: 574

You will probably here from the Lee haters,but I've used a Lee Turret press for years and it gets the job done just fine.
The single stage press will work great,but it is slow for pistol rounds.For just a little more money I'd get the 4 hole turret press kit and buy a couple extra turrets plates for it.Setup all the dies for each calber in the turret plates,and you can switch out the turrets in a matter of seconds to change the caliber you want to reload.
Once you have the dies setup,the only one you will have to adjust is the bullet seating die when you change to a different weight/style of bullet for each caliber.