getting accurare weight measures
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > getting accurare weight measures

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 10:27 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default getting accurare weight measures

I have been reloading for quite a few years and this is the way I can get an accurate weight measure. First off I use moderately priced Lee powder measure and scale plus a cheap electronic scale such as the one from Midway. I use the beam scale to get my adjustable measure in the ballpark, lets say 6.3 grs.. Then when I get it close, I up the beam scale to 10X in this case 63grs and dump 10 charges into the pan. By doing this any little mistake will be magnified and you can adjust your powder measure in smaller increments. When I get it close enough I check the 10X measure ,63grs, with the electronic scale. If this mirrors my beam scale I am pretty confident that I have the measuring rod properly adjusted to throw the exact weight I want. A good confrimation of this is if the load chronies to the approximate speed listed in the loading manual. CD

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-24-2008, 12:27 AM   #2

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

+1 Good extrapolation! The easier way is to just buy a Redding Bench Rest Model 3BR powder measure. I weigh every 10th load and it never needs adjusting. I also use an old O'Haus Triple Beam Balance. Someday I'll get an electronic scale, but so far the old lab scale works fine, if not a bit more slowly.

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body - USMC