Gas checks?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Gas checks?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 01:29 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Gas checks?

What exactly do they do, I'm new to casting bullets. People have told me they help accuracy while others have said they keep the barrel from leading.one person even told me they keep the back of the bullet from melting while being fired.NO CLUE

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-21-2012, 01:53 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2951 Times on 1537 Posts
Likes Given: 263

There are two schools of thought on this;
1. The gas check scrapes the barrel clean after the lead passes through.
2. The gas check prevents the high pressure, hot gasses from contacting the lead and vaporizing small amounts that then stick to the barrel.

Personally, I tend to go with #2. I have seen the small craters left in cast bullet bases that are apparently from the hot gasses.

I use gas checks on VERY high velocity bullets only. Magnum pistols pushed to the limits (1400 fps or higher) and rifles in excess of 2100 fps. I use a plain base 340 gr bullet for my .45-70 that leaves the Guide Gun at 2100 fps. I use a VERY hard alloy of 50% wheel weight and 50% linotype and have ZERO leading problems.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 09-21-2012, 01:59 AM   #3

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by reloader97 View Post