Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Gas checks? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/gas-checks-72885/)

reloader97 09-21-2012 12:29 AM

Gas checks?

What exactly do they do, I'm new to casting bullets. People have told me they help accuracy while others have said they keep the barrel from leading.one person even told me they keep the back of the bullet from melting while being fired.NO CLUE

robocop10mm 09-21-2012 12:53 AM

There are two schools of thought on this;
1. The gas check scrapes the barrel clean after the lead passes through.
2. The gas check prevents the high pressure, hot gasses from contacting the lead and vaporizing small amounts that then stick to the barrel.

Personally, I tend to go with #2. I have seen the small craters left in cast bullet bases that are apparently from the hot gasses.

I use gas checks on VERY high velocity bullets only. Magnum pistols pushed to the limits (1400 fps or higher) and rifles in excess of 2100 fps. I use a plain base 340 gr bullet for my .45-70 that leaves the Guide Gun at 2100 fps. I use a VERY hard alloy of 50% wheel weight and 50% linotype and have ZERO leading problems.

genesis 09-21-2012 12:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reloader97 (Post 948930)
What exactly do they do, I'm new to casting bullets. People have told me they help accuracy while others have said they keep the barrel from leading.one person even told me they keep the back of the bullet from melting while being fired.NO CLUE

Hi Reloader. Gas check are only required for higher velocities. I cast with straight wheel weights and keep my velocities to under 1000 FPS, so I don't need gas checks. I do use them on my high velocity stuff, and use much harder lead (lino-type). For more info on gas checks go to youtube and do a search on "gas checks". You'll get a ton of videos about them.