Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Electronic Powder Scales (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/electronic-powder-scales-36775/)

TXnorton 01-11-2011 11:37 AM

Electronic Powder Scales

I have been thinking about getting one, but when I read the purchasers' reviews on them on the Cabela's website I see a lot of complaints about accuracy, drifting zero and a few other problems.

I have been re-loading for 30+ years and I am still using the RCBS beam scale I got with my old single stage press.

If you have and use one, what manufacturer/model do you have? Would you recommend yours to others?

cpttango30 01-11-2011 12:07 PM

I have a PACT BBKII it was an accurate scale, as accurate as my Lyman 1010 (Same as RCBS 1010). The problem is a draft can set them off. Florescent lights are a NO NO, no phones, tv, radio as all of that stuff and interfere with the scale operations.

They all have warranties but they don't warranty the one part that is the most critical part of them all the load cell. That is what tells the weight of what is in the pan. That is the biggest load of crap I have ever heard. We will warranty all but the most important part if that goes bad well your SOL and have to buy a new scale.

Ask me what my BBKII does now?

It is a separator that keeps the powder from the primers. The load cell went out after about 9 months. I was very careful with it storing in it's box never dropping it always treating it like a new born kitten. For me they are just not worth the cost and the headache I will stick to my beam scale and have just as accurate if not more accurate powder weights.

c3shooter 01-11-2011 12:48 PM