Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Do you consider cost per round?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 02:37 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default Do you consider cost per round?

I have been reloading for about 30 years now. I load four handgun cartridges and four rifle cartridges. Over the years I have been able to develop some ammunition that works very well in my firearms. I have been able to save money also, but that is not my primary concern.

I share my reloading information with friends and many times we have been able to help each other in finding our pet loads. I know one guy who gets on my nerves sometimes because he always asks, "What is the cost per round"? He is a penny pincher extreme and is driven by "doing it cheaper". His quest to do it cheaper affects the way he loads ammunition. He uses the fastest-burning powder he can get away with so he can use less of it. He uses the cheapest bullets and other components he can find. He places a lot of emphasis on the "cost per round". I am not talking about someone who goes through a lot of ammunition. He doesn't shoot very often so I can't see how he can possibly be saving more than pennies every time he shoots.

What about the rest of you? Do you load your own ammo to save money or to develop ammo that will work great in your guns, or both? Do you place much emphasis on "cost per round"?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-06-2012, 04:23 PM   #2

Liked 698 Times on 464 Posts
Likes Given: 730