Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Crimping .40 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/crimping-40-a-85258/)

Kraj 02-26-2013 10:30 PM

Crimping .40

Im new to reloading with lead bullets, but i understand how to reload. I got a lone wolf barrel to be able to shoot lead out of my glock 35. Basically I prime the case like i would with jacket bullets . Expand the case with a Lyman 2 Step M Expander Die, which im told me much better for reloading lead bullets ( had some problems with the rcbs expanding die and lead.) I back the crimp part of the seating die way out so it is only seating the bullet and load them to my OAL of 1.135 which cycle fine.

now my question is how much taper crimp do i need to put on this rounds. My understanding is i just need to get rid of the extra bell left over from the expander die, but i dont see any of this.

I took 50 of these rounds to the range today and had no problems with feeding.

Doing a barrel test they fall in just fine just by dropping them, i can get them to fall back out, but they are not hard to get out.

I am using mixed range brass and badmans 180gn FP bullets. (http://www.badmanbullets.com/OnlineStore/40-180-fp.html)

if i measure the case i get .009-.010 thickness of the walls, the bullet is .041. the completed round is .420 - .422. so assuming the different cases are different thicknesses im ending up with about 0 bell after the case is crimped.

Im kinda concerned about bullet setback because .40 is a high pressure round to begin with. So how do you guys handle your taper crimps?

Kraj 02-26-2013 10:40 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is a picture of the bullets

rjd3282 02-27-2013 01:16 AM

Measure a couple of factory rounds then adjust your taper to match.

GilaDan 02-27-2013 01:40 AM