Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   To Crimp, or Not To Crimp... That's a good question! (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/crimp-not-crimp-thats-good-question-48803/)

Brother_COM 09-25-2011 06:51 PM

To Crimp, or Not To Crimp... That's a good question!

Guys I'm new to reloading and I need some help with whether or not to crimp.

Background info: I'm reloading .223 cal for my Mini-14. The Sierra 22 cal bullets DO NOT have a caneluer. <spelling?>

I DO have a very nice 223 LEE Pacesetter Factory Crimp Die Set
http://i.ebayimg.com/t/Lee-3-Die-Set...vjnQQ~~_12.JPG

I've been told that I "have to crimp because the other bullets in my magazine MAY slide in their cases as I'm firing." First off, with the die I have is this even true???

So do I need to crimp?
What will it benefit me?
HOW MUCH of a crimp should I use?

Thanks in advance for the wisdom you'll share,
Glen

Trez 09-25-2011 07:01 PM

I dont own a .223 but..
If the bullets dont have a cannelure, I wouldnt crimp them... The only time you have to crimp is for tube fed mags. I was crimping Arisaka rounds with cannelures (To dupicate the military rounds) and was told it was unnecessary... Most times just the neck pressure will hold the bullet in place..

Im not sure you can crimp bullets without the cannelure.... But I could be wrong?

Txhillbilly 09-25-2011 07:25 PM

There are +'s and -'s with crimping bullets.

I rarely ever crimp any of mine,but I set up my sizing dies so that the necks have a good grip on the bullets.
Now using Lee dies,they all do somewhat crimp with the seating dies,but you can adjust it by turning the dies in or out of the press.
If you want a good crimp,buy a Lee factory crimp die,I use them on several of my loads where the bullets are really stretched far out of the case.