Crimp and die question by a newbie
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Crimp and die question by a newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2010, 01:49 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Crimp and die question by a newbie

I'm just getting into reloading and looking at buying my first sets of dies for 40 S&W, 45 ACP and 9mm. I fire all from automatics (Springfield, Glock, Beretta) respectively. Do I need a crimp die? As I look at sets some have them and some don't. I saw in another post that "some seating dies for pistol calibers taper crimp when you seat them" so when I load these calibers will the taper crimp be enough with a seat die that taper crimps? Or do I need to have a specific crimp die? Not clear on this - please someone educate me, I'm sorry I sound like such a rock ape here but I really want to grasp all the details before I screw this up. Thanks for the help.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-12-2010, 02:04 AM   #2

You need to be able to crimp. Well, actually, for auto loaders it's not much of a "crimp", it's more like taking the expanded flare out of the case mouth so the cartridge will chamber easily. Meaning, you need to take it easy even with a taper crimper.

All handgun die sets I know of include a crimping ring in the seating die so, no you don't NEED a seperate crimper die. MAYBE later on, after you get well grounded in the loading process you MAY want a seperate crimp die but, if you do, you will know it and know why without asking us.