Compressed Loads
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Compressed Loads

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 02:10 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default Compressed Loads

I am new to reloading, and I am going to be loading some 7mm Rem Mag for a Sendero with 26" barrel. I have a buddy who has a lot of reloading experience that is going to be helping me. I am going to shoot 168gr Berger VLD hunting bullets. I had Berger send me their reloading data for all the different powders and stuff. They give min and max's, and also a fill ratio. For instance, the max load on H1000, which I am very interested in using, is a 100.1% fill ratio. Is that a compressed load? Seating depth will probably play a role in that too I'm sure. Is anything over 100% a compressed load? Any explanation to clarify this for me would be helpful. Thanks. Also, any input you have on compressed loads would be appreciated. My buddy isn't necessarily a fan of them, but I am curious if anybody else has any thought on them. Thanks for the input.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-09-2011, 02:22 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5650 Times on 2954 Posts
Likes Given: 372

Depends on their definition of 100%. I take it to mean right to the case mouth.

Compressed loads burn more evenly than looser loadings as the powder in loads with lots of empty space have more surface area to ignite so burn rates can vary.

In extreme cases it can cause detonation which is very much no bueno.