Cleaning brass question on primers - Page 2

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Cleaning brass question on primers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 06:50 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 44 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfraga1978 View Post
How do you get the carbon build up out of the primer pocket then?
You use the old primer pocket cleaning tool that has been around for a long time. It has a screwdriver-type handle with stiff wires bunched up on the end. It works great for cleaning primer pockets and doesn't take very long.

This is the type I have been using for about 30 years. There are similar types made by different manufacturers.

rcbs09574.jpg  

Last edited by BlueTurf; 03-01-2012 at 06:56 PM.

Old 03-01-2012, 06:56 PM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueTurf

You use the old primer pocket cleaning tool that has been around for a long time. It has a screwdriver-type handle with stiff wires bunched up on the end. It works great for cleaning primer pockets and doesn't take very long.
Yes that's what I use on the really stuck on stuff. I was referring to a progressive press that de-primes then seats a new primer. That defeats the point of having a progressive press if you have to run everything through twice anyway to clean to primer pocket.

High angle hell. Death and destruction from above.

Old 03-01-2012, 07:42 PM   #13

Liked 2521 Times on 1133 Posts
Likes Given: 2418

I have progressive presses it's no big deal to run the case thru again. It is an extra step but if you want clean primer pockets it's your only choice. I can run cases thru that step twice and still be many times faster than a single stage press. With the RCBS prep center you can also remove the crimp on military brass. You can prep hundreds of cases in an hour. I've thought about getting a single stage press just to decap.

Old 03-01-2012, 08:53 PM   #14