Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Clean Reliable Powder for 9mm Needed (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/clean-reliable-powder-9mm-needed-43566/)

Thebiker 06-07-2011 05:09 PM

Clean Reliable Powder for 9mm Needed

I have been reloading for 20+ years, primarily revolver and shotgun. I have also reloaded 45ACP & 9mm in the past using Unique, but didn't care for it. It functioned fine but was dirty (MHO).

Due to the powder shortage we had after the current administration took office, I bought what was available at the time. Now that I'm back to reloading 9mm I have found that the SR 4756 that I have in stock works fine for my .357, 44SP & Mag doesn't get it done for my 9mm.

The problem I'm running into is stovepipes using SR4756 (WSP primers) even at max charges (5.2 gr with 115gr RN).

So, I'm not looking for anyone to commit themselves to a specific powder charge (in this age "liability" sucks) but just a clean powder (cleaner than Unique) that gets the job done.

The problem is not the pistol. I'm using a Sig P239 with several thousand rounds through it and a P226 that I have close to a thousand rounds on. No problems except with my reloads.

I have done a fair amount of trouble shooting on this problem: checked the rounds for sizing with a case gauge, checked C.O.L. and length of the finished rounds. Used reference weights to make sure the scale is properly calibrated and checked that the powder measure is consistent.

I have come to the conclusion that the powder just is not suitable for this application.

So, I would welcome a clean, reliable powder recommedation for 9mm Luger since I don't want to just start randomly buying powder.

Thanks for any help offered.

anm2_man 06-08-2011 12:24 AM

Since your in the greater Phoenix area, I guess you could come and sue me anytime.