Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Casting some 9mm lead ?s (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/casting-some-9mm-lead-s-90928/)

CapnJack 05-19-2013 05:52 PM

Casting some 9mm lead ?s

First off id like to say that this is my first attempt at casting whatso ever,but i never go into anything like this unarmed. I just had a couple questions for those out there that would be so kind to share some expierance!:)

I hastly bought a Lee 9mm mold 356-102-1R not paying atten. to the gr. weight i think may have bit me. 102gr? Isnt that a really wierd weight to begin with?

The other question i had about this particular mold is, its sized for .356 and im reading alot about 9mm liking .357-.358 to keep leading down and accuracy up. I check other 9mm molds for sale and just about all of them drop .356. If 9mm likes bigger then why do the molds drop smaller?

I realize that for a tru fit i would need to slug the bore correct? Im not looking to match shoot or impress anybdy, i just want lil 2no leading and decent accuracy is all.

On another note i found somthing out the other night and tried it out!
Ive got chunks of lead from work and i had no clue how hard these things were,sooo i browsed another forum and they had a sticky about how to test lead hardness with artist pencils! I gave it the ol college try and im fully confident that what i have for lead is right around 12-14 BHN. According to there charts a bit harder then range scrap. Kinda neat! ~Capn~

robocop10mm 05-19-2013 10:47 PM

12-14 is a bit soft still for 9mm. IMHO, it is not just the velocity, it is the way 9mm acts. Small case gets up to speed very quickly. Hard bullet, properly sized and LOADED LONG (as long as possible).