Can someone explain hollow point ammo to me?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Can someone explain hollow point ammo to me?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 01:35 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Can someone explain hollow point ammo to me?

Yes, I'm a newbie. I've just recently gotten into guns and I only own a shotgun. I plan on upping my arsenal soon (with what I'm quite sure yet...)
I hear so many people talking about hollow point ammunition. I know that there's been problems with it in the past (as far as legislation goes.) I'd just like to know more about it. Yes, I could have just googled it or looked it up someplace else, but I figured that I should ask some people who are experts.
What I don't understand is, why is hollow point ammo any good? When you look at it logically, (at least from the sound of the name HOLLOW POINT) wouldn't ammunition with a solid point be more effective in terms of penetration just because it's probably heavier, etc.?
Anyhow, can someone (a few of you even) give me a lesson on what exactly hollow point ammunition is, why so many people love it so much, and what the big deal with it is?
I'm sorry if it's been discussed a million times before, but I wanted a fresh take on it, specific to what I wanted to know. Thank you.

My home defense system? A Rottie and a shotty...

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-13-2010, 01:40 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts