can rifle powder be used in pistol
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > can rifle powder be used in pistol

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2010, 03:11 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default can rifle powder be used in pistol

hi
i am new to reloading and would like to know if rifle powders can be used to reload pistol rounds?

also can rifle primers (small )be used for pistol ammo reloading?

what would the reason be if the answer is no?

thanks

nagarifle

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-06-2010, 03:18 AM   #2

Liked 36 Times on 30 Posts

NO on both accounts.

Pistol/shotgun powder are much faster burning that rifle powder. Pistol powders are designed to burn really fast because they have as little as 2" to push the bullet.

Again NO rifle primers can not be used to reload pistol ammo. I do believe small pistol and small rifle primers are different sized to boot.

Maybe you need to get a few books and read.

1. Get the ABC's of reloading.

This is not some fly by night oh just fill the case and smash a bullet into it operation.

Reloading is very serious and not to be PLAYED with. It can and it will KILL or maim you in a fraction of a second.

I may sounds like a dick but we have to look out for new reloaders or bad things can happen.

Old 02-06-2010, 03:28 AM   #3

Liked 1424 Times on 808 Posts
Likes Given: 1290

Let me sound like a dick too!

If it says small rifle primer, guess what it's application will be???

Read your load tables and follow them to the "t".