Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Bullet Weight not Found in Manuals

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 05:56 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 698 Times on 464 Posts
Likes Given: 730

Default Bullet Weight not Found in Manuals

Found this trying to get data for my .30-40 using RL-15, Is it true? Could I use info from a 220 gr. bullet on a 180 gr. bullet? Sorry for all the questions but Im new to this and cant find specific data for any of my calibers using RL-15. Ive found data for .30-30, .30-06, .303 British, 8mm Mauser, etc.... But none for .30-40 or 7.7. I have around 4 lbs. of Rl-15 and I dont understand why I have to buy a new powder when its used in so many similar calibers?

Bullet Weight not Found in Manuals
Lee:
If the bullet weight you wish to load is not found in your favorite manual, it is safe to use loads listed for a heavier bullet weight and find a load for the powder you have. Using that load with the lighter bullet simply reduces the pressure, but the velocity remains approximately the same.

Speer:
The physics of loading cartridges indicates that a heavier bullet will build pressures faster than a lighter bullet owing to its mass. The greater mass of the heavier bullet resists change (acceleration) more than a lighter mass so the powder charges for the heavier bullet will nearly always be lower than those for the lighter bullet of the same construction. This indicates that, without other data to follow, the heavier bullet data can be used as a starting point for the lighter bullet.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.