Bullet Molding
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Bullet Molding

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 06:08 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Bullet Molding

I am new to bullet molding. I have all of the components to start. I have a lot of pure lead with access to a lot of metal. What metal is best to mix with lead to obtain hard bullets? The book I have only mentions pre mixed metal mixes from lymen etc.(expensive) but I want to know what kinds of metal I can buy to do this. Mostly for 357 Magnum. Any comments welcome. Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-28-2009, 07:38 PM   #2

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

I only cast for my BP guns which use pure lead, but cast bullets for high velocity metallic cartridges require tin and/or antimony. I believe wheel weights and linotype are composed of the proper alloy mix. A lead hardness tester would be a useful tool if you plan on casting your own bullets for non-BP rifles. Hardness is measured with a tester which drives a hardened steel rod into a bullet, and read on a vernier scale in arbitrary units running from 0 (Brinell 5) for pure lead, to 10 for linotype (Brinell 22) Wheel weights vary from 7 to 9 (Brinell 10-13) A hardness of atleast 6 is required for medium handgun velocities, over 8 for magnum handguns and gas-checked rifle bullets. Someone else out here can probably supply you with more information on acquiring and mixing tin/antimony with pure lead, as well as bullet sizing and gas checks.

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body - USMC