Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   "blowback"? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/blowback-23273/)

Rosko Packer 02-11-2010 03:58 AM

"blowback"?

I am new to reloading and have a novice's question. I have been trying different loads/bullets in a 41mag revolver. When using H110, with jacketed bullets, gases were shooting out from the front of the cylinder where I could feel them strike my face. I saw no signs on the cases of pressure problems, but after only 10 rounds gray powder residue was all over the outside of this gun. I shot the same charge and bullet weight but with cast bullets and this doesn't happen. I have been trying to analyse what caused this (haven't shot any of the "blowbackers" since as it almost seems like the bore is too tight for the jacketed bullets, also seems that this would jump pressure thru the roof). Any info,ideas,experience, or info would be much appreciated.

TheOldMan 02-11-2010 11:51 AM

Could you supply us with your bullet types, weight, and powder charges that you are using? I'm no expert either but one thing that comes to mind for me might be the type of crimp you are using on the jacketed bullets? You usually want to use a roll crimp on your magnum loads if memory serves.

cpttango30 02-11-2010 01:34 PM

Gas escapes from there on a revolver. H110 is a powder I have not used.

Some powder are dirtier than others. I would pull the bullets on any remaining loads and check to make sure that your not over loaded. In many pistol cartridges it is very easy to get double charges.

Some people do load for "SHOW" they find the powder that produces the biggest flame just to spook people at the range.

robocop10mm 02-11-2010 01:55 PM