Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Best Target Ammo? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/best-target-ammo-56914/)

Mdrums 02-03-2012 12:50 PM

Best Target Ammo?

I looked around the forum and couldn't find my answer. I'm new at this and was at a gun shop today that told me not to use the Winchester White Box ammo in my Glock or my wife's M&P because it is cheap dirty ammo. They said it really dirtys the gun mechanism, cause failures and wear.

For target practice...and the wifey and I are doing a lot of practice...but we have money to spend on ammo...so a few extra dollars for something better doesn't affect us.....I don't want to waste money but would rather have a quality bullet go through our guns.

What is the more cleaner, better shooting ammo,for target practice?

Also while I'm at it what would be the absolute best SD ammo for a Glock G27 .40s&w and a M&P compact 9mm?

silverado113 02-03-2012 12:57 PM

I use Winchester for plinking and haven't had any problems. It's just like anything else and how you take care of your weapons in my opinion. I usually clean my weapons right after I shoot or the next day at the very latest. Blazer is good cheap target ammo too.

Ranger-6 02-03-2012 01:59 PM

I like using FMJ for target. For the .40 JCP and .45 JHP, I normally use Federal, PMC, or TulAmmo, which ever is cheaper at the time of purchase. Today is range day, I plan to shoot Phoenix HP22 using CCI, and Hi-Point .380 CF using RWS.

Overkill0084 02-03-2012 02:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mdrums (Post 698058)
I looked around the forum and couldn't find my answer. I'm new at this and was at a gun shop today that told me not to use the Winchester White Box ammo in my Glock or my wife's M&P because it is cheap dirty ammo. They said it really dirtys the gun mechanism, cause failures and wear.