Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > AR primer question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 03:03 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default AR primer question

From what I have read, reloading 223 for a AR a magnum primer is needed to prevent accidental fires when 'sending the bolt home.' in my manual (Lyman's 49th) they use a Remington 7 1/2 primer and from my understanding it is not listed as a magnum. I have read a lot of stuff saying it has a lot of the same qualities and will work. What do you guys think? Thanks for the help, I'm still a newbie trying to figure this reloading stuff out.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-12-2013, 04:23 AM   #2
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2150 Times on 1070 Posts
Likes Given: 1092

Noahlanier9,

I will not beat around the bush! That is total BS! Standard primers are just fine for reloading 223 or 5.56 casings. So many articals written by these prima donnas of Guns and BS Magazine articles who would like to impress people with their infinite wisdom but are simply full of it! But as I have reflected standard primers are just fine.

The Constitution is not an instrument for the Government to restrain the people. It is an instrument for the people to restrain the Government!
*Patrick Henry

Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life and who are willing to consciously work and sacrifice for that freedom."