Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   AR primer question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/ar-primer-question-92173/)

noahlanier9 06-12-2013 03:03 AM

AR primer question

From what I have read, reloading 223 for a AR a magnum primer is needed to prevent accidental fires when 'sending the bolt home.' in my manual (Lyman's 49th) they use a Remington 7 1/2 primer and from my understanding it is not listed as a magnum. I have read a lot of stuff saying it has a lot of the same qualities and will work. What do you guys think? Thanks for the help, I'm still a newbie trying to figure this reloading stuff out.

Sniper03 06-12-2013 04:23 AM

Noahlanier9,

I will not beat around the bush! That is total BS! Standard primers are just fine for reloading 223 or 5.56 casings. So many articals written by these prima donnas of Guns and BS Magazine articles who would like to impress people with their infinite wisdom but are simply full of it! But as I have reflected standard primers are just fine.

robocop10mm 06-12-2013 04:48 PM

I have loaded and shot literally tens of thousands of rounds of .223/5.56 ammo. I have used both standard and magnum small rifle primers. I have NEVER had a slam fire. I would recommend you not use Federal primers as they tend to be the most sensitive available.

As an extra precaution, always load from the magazine. The resistance of the feed lips will slow the bolt carrier just enough to keep everything fine. If you were to drop one in the chamber and let the bolt slam on it, you MIGHT get a slam fire.

If I were in a colder climate and using ball type propellant, I would opt for a magnum primer to get the cold, hard to ignite powder going properly. In Texas, it does not get cold enough to cause problems.

c3shooter 06-12-2013 04:59 PM