Ammo Shortage - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Ammo Shortage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 03:45 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 307 Times on 138 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Ammo is scarce here in Tucson. I paid $405 each for three cans of 5.56 62gr and .45 is running about a buck a round. .22 is gone, none to be had by hook or crook.

Do you folks think that the market will cool off any time soon or should I keep buying at these high prices? I am really new to shooting and I would like a few thousand rounds to learn with. The only thing I have been regularly able to find is 12ga target loads.

I bought my wife a Baby Eagle by IMI in .45 and a Sig P220 Extreme for myself. Then I picked up a Sionics AR-15. I bought a 1000 rounds of 5.56 55gr and 500 rounds of .45 thinking that would hold me awhile... Sadly I was very wrong on that call.

Criminals are never materially handicapped by such rules; the only effect is to disarm the peaceful citizen and put him fully at the mercy of the lawless. Such rules look very pretty on paper; in practice they are as foolish and footless as the attempt of the mice to bell the cat.

Letter to Alice Dalgliesh, the editor who was censoring his manuscript for Red Planet, regarding gun control registration and control Published in 1949

Old 02-06-2013, 04:03 AM   #22
Kostriker
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1830 Times on 1055 Posts
Likes Given: 3758

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderingMind View Post
Ammo is scarce here in Tucson. I paid $405 each for three cans of 5.56 62gr and .45 is running about a buck a round. .22 is gone, none to be had by hook or crook.

Do you folks think that the market will cool off any time soon or should I keep buying at these high prices? I am really new to shooting and I would like a few thousand rounds to learn with. The only thing I have been regularly able to find is 12ga target loads.