Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > 5.56 or .223 that is good and cheap?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2008, 11:08 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 53

Default 5.56 or .223 that is good and cheap?

Can anyone recomend a brand of either 5.56 or .223 that is resonably priced, easy to get, and is capable of delivering consistant groups? I have tried a few different brands ranging in price from $20 for a box of 20 to $6.56 a box of 20. As we all know, there is always a difference between ammo, I am looking to buy one brand, of one type, and store up over time. I am a Vet. going to school, and surviving on just my G.I.Bill and V.A. disability check, until I can finish school next year. So budget is important, since it is quite limited, but I want something that is consistant. Any suggestions?

SGT U.S. Army Special Operations Command, Ft. Bragg, NC (2002-2006)
Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran (2004)

"Democracy is two wolves and one sheep voting on what to have for dinner. Liberty is the well-armed lamb contesting the vote." - Benjamin Franklin.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-13-2008, 11:24 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

go to Academy Sports and get there brand, Monarch .... the brass ones, for about $7 a box

Old 07-14-2008, 02:25 AM   #3

Learn to reload....

SEMPER FI

Old 07-14-2008, 05:37 AM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Dillinger suggested these guys: http://www.surplusammo.com/