Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > .357 Mag question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 06:12 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 8 Times on 3 Posts

Default .357 Mag question

I am fairly new to handloading, and I want to start loading some .357 magnum loads. Most of what I load will be shot through a lever action rifle. Out of the 3 recipe books I have, only 1 has load data for rifle. My question is, is it safe to use the pistol load data with pistol powder to shoot out of a rifle? Or should I stay with the rifle powder? All of the factory loads I have purchased have been shot through both my rifle and my revolver. I have asked around here locally, but I get a lot of unsure answers! Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-16-2013, 06:31 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2176 Times on 1120 Posts
Likes Given: 189

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iam10-32 View Post
I am fairly new to handloading, and I want to start loading some .357 magnum loads. Most of what I load will be shot through a lever action rifle. Out of the 3 recipe books I have, only 1 has load data for rifle. My question is, is it safe to use the pistol load data with pistol powder to shoot out of a rifle? Or should I stay with the rifle powder? All of the factory loads I have purchased have been shot through both my rifle and my revolver. I have asked around here locally, but I get a lot of unsure answers! Any help is appreciated. Thanks.