Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   .357 Mag question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/357-mag-question-84387/)

Iam10-32 02-16-2013 06:12 PM

.357 Mag question

I am fairly new to handloading, and I want to start loading some .357 magnum loads. Most of what I load will be shot through a lever action rifle. Out of the 3 recipe books I have, only 1 has load data for rifle. My question is, is it safe to use the pistol load data with pistol powder to shoot out of a rifle? Or should I stay with the rifle powder? All of the factory loads I have purchased have been shot through both my rifle and my revolver. I have asked around here locally, but I get a lot of unsure answers! Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Overkill0084 02-16-2013 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iam10-32 (Post 1140316)
I am fairly new to handloading, and I want to start loading some .357 magnum loads. Most of what I load will be shot through a lever action rifle. Out of the 3 recipe books I have, only 1 has load data for rifle. My question is, is it safe to use the pistol load data with pistol powder to shoot out of a rifle? Or should I stay with the rifle powder? All of the factory loads I have purchased have been shot through both my rifle and my revolver. I have asked around here locally, but I get a lot of unsure answers! Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Yes, standard .357 loads will work fine. For that matter, .38 special will probably work OK as well, check the rifle's instructions to remove any doubt.

"Rifle" data is probably much the same as the "Ruger Only" data you will find in some manuals. It's extremely hot for caliber and very likely, over maximum SAAMI specs. Since you are new to the reloading game I would stay away from them, at least until you have a good grasp on & are comfortable with your process.