.223 re-sizing die question
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > .223 re-sizing die question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2013, 01:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default .223 re-sizing die question

To start with, I'm new to reloading. I've reloaded a few thousand pistol cartridges and am now attempting rifle cartridges for the first time. I have all kinds of equipment (given to me by the widow of an old gentleman I was friends with). I already have a (used) Hornady .223 full-length resizing die as well as a RCBS neck-only .223 die. Because my brass comes from various sources, I feel I should use the full length die. I am still at the familiarization stage and not ready to begin the reloading operation. I installed the die in the press and selected a few once-fired cases. The die was installed per the Hornady directions. I noticed that the cases (all of them) are extremely difficult to extract and I'm actually having to "muscle" it out of the die. I suspect there is a problem with the die....because the die is used (and I can't talk to the former owner) I don't trust it. This can't be right. My plan is to send the die back to Hornady for inspection, etc. In the meantime, I'm thinking I should get a NEW die and start from new. I realize I'll probably get lots of different opinions, but can anyone suggest a good full length die for a beginner? (By the way, I also found a brand new Hornady .223 seating die.....the sizing die is used (found inside a 2 die Hornady plastic case) but the seating die was missing from the plastic case and there is a brand new Hornady seating die in a sealed clear plastic package.

Last edited by Professor; 12-24-2013 at 01:24 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!