Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Trickin out my Mossberg Maverick. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/trickin-out-my-mossberg-maverick-64989/)

danolator 05-23-2012 01:27 AM

Trickin out my Mossberg Maverick.

Hey all. This is my first attempt to convert an inexpensive gun into a more effective home defense device. Have the tactical stock I want on order. Now I move forward and need your help. Flashlight? Change barrel (stock is 18.5")? Sights? Don't care about everyone's advice on 00 Buck going through walls. That just means it goes through people and that's what will be in my gun. So learn me up from there please.

mountainman13 05-23-2012 01:34 AM

I'd say the barrel is fine. Get a reflex sight. I prefer my light separate but if mounting is your preference go for it.

HockaLouis 05-23-2012 12:12 PM

Casting pearls to swine

Can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.
Lipstick on a pig.

danolator 05-23-2012 04:37 PM

Yea, I know it's a cheap gun. More interested in making it better for home defense versus showing it off.

oli700 05-23-2012 06:48 PM

it’s not a cheap gun, just inexpensive. What is you budget for a light ?

HOSSFLY 05-23-2012 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HockaLouis (Post 811606)
Can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.
Lipstick on a pig.

I would bet there are more Mossys in homes for HD than any other scattergun out there :rolleyes:

danolator 05-23-2012 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oli700
it’s not a cheap gun, just inexpensive. What is you budget for a light ?

Don't have a clue. The stock I ordered cost about $125. Don't even know what sights and lights go for. All new to me. Not sure I need sights, but getting a visual on the target is fairly important.

oli700 05-23-2012 08:46 PM