Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Trench Guns? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/trench-guns-41166/)

MilSurpShooterNH 04-12-2011 10:51 AM

Trench Guns?

What in your opinion is the best model Trench Gun? I personally like the Ithica 37 Trench Gun, that or the Stevens Model Trench Gun. Ive also seen that the Mossberg 590a1 is styled almost like a Trech Gun with the ability to attach a bayonet. Im new with shotguns, so forgive me if I seem unintelligent in this field (I figure i could learn more by asking questions anyway right?) Also, what is the point of slam firing? I know the Winchester Model 1897 Trench Gun and the Ithica 37 can both slam fire, but what is the point? Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Hawg 04-12-2011 11:30 AM

Not much point it slam firing but is kinda neat they do. Check out the Norinco 97. It's a great gun and made from better steel than the Winchesters were.

30-30remchester 04-13-2011 03:03 AM

I have shot every model trench and riot gun and have owned a few and still do. Without a doubt the Winchester model 12 was the preimere trench gun. You will need to know I dont own a model 12 trench gun but do at present own a Winchester 1897 and a Savage trench gun. All are great guns but even the Ithica and 1897 fall behind the model 12 in my book as well as most "experts" on the subject.

MilSurpShooterNH 04-14-2011 05:16 AM

Thank you for the information so far.

So the Norinco is a decent copy then? How much would I be looking to spend on one? Under $500 I presume right?

deathkricket 04-14-2011 09:07 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by MilSurpShooterNH (Post 486085)
Thank you for the information so far.

So the Norinco is a decent copy then? How much would I be looking to spend on one? Under $500 I presume right?