Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Trade-in question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/trade-question-36944/)

gnrfan86 01-15-2011 07:26 PM

Trade-in question

Hello! I was in need of some advice on a trade-in I'm planning on doing.

I own a Mossberg Maverick 88. I bought it at a gunshow in town awhile back. It's a six shot with a 28 inch barrel. I bought a new 18 1/2 inch barrel not too long ago and I've only shot with that barrel once. I was in a gun shop near where I live the other day and saw that they had another 88 for sale, great condition, and was the 8 shot security version. I'm wanting to see about trading my 88 and the new barrel to get this version. I believe the price tag was $232.99. I bought my shotgun for 220 and the new barrel was about 90 bucks.

I am not an expert haggler so my bartering skills are close to none but I was hoping someone could give me some advice as to how much I should get off the newer 88 with my trade-ins so I know what is a good deal and what is me being swindled :P

Anyways, I would really appreciate any help I can get. Like I said, the 18 inch barrel is practically new, and my 88 is in good shape but does have a few appearance scratches and wear but its completely functional. Thanks again!

NGIB 01-15-2011 09:22 PM

What you're going to find is that yours is worth about half of what you paid for it - maybe less. Gun stores are in the business to make money and even though you have a low round count - it's a used gun. You are usually in better shape if you sell the gun yourself versus trading it in...

JTJ 01-15-2011 11:34 PM

Your present gun can be used for hunting and SD. If you want the extra capacity, get a tube extension kit. It would be a lot cheaper than trading.

gnrfan86 01-16-2011 12:11 AM