Stoeger M3500
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    


Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Stoeger M3500

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 05:05 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ShagNasty1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,526
Liked 461 Times on 267 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default Stoeger M3500

So my parents surprised me with a new Stoeger M3500 Semi Auto 12 gauge for the beginning of dove season since they know I hadn't been wanting to take my grandpa's old, now mine, beautiful 1100 out anymore. Too much sentimental value in it for me. Anyways, I took it out today to get a feel for it and ran some Winchester 2 3/4" heavy dove loads thru it and while it ran somewhat decently smooth, every so often it wouldn't cycle the next round or would cycle only half way and get jammed up with either the bolt being caught by the shell and it not picking the shell up or the bolt would cycle but the shell wouldn't. Is this normal and I just need to break it in with more shells? I'll post pictures in the morning of the shotgun. I love it and it swings beautifully, just wanna know if this is normal or not


ShagNasty1001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 08-15-2012, 05:13 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BrooklynFaTs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 116
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You get the barrel polished most lock up's is cause by that


BrooklynFaTs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:32 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ShagNasty1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,526
Liked 461 Times on 267 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynFaTs
You get the barrel polished most lock up's is cause by that
I will try for that. Do I need to run a few more hundred rounds through it? I only have 175-200 in it now and it's half in half of heavy dove and regular dove/target loads
ShagNasty1001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BrooklynFaTs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 116
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

When I bought my 870 I bought it new I called them up they said that causes that problem just get it polished and it should go away and don't short chuck it that means coco it all the way back when your running shells through it the say its a common problem any gunsmith could do that for you good luck
BrooklynFaTs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:15 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ShagNasty1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,526
Liked 461 Times on 267 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynFaTs
When I bought my 870 I bought it new I called them up they said that causes that problem just get it polished and it should go away and don't short chuck it that means coco it all the way back when your running shells through it the say its a common problem any gunsmith could do that for you good luck
This is a semi auto though, not a pump so making sure I rack it all the way back isn't a problem for me
ShagNasty1001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:32 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MrWray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 6,428
Liked 1040 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I have a Stoeger M2000 semi auto "Defense" model, i know that you need to use loads 1oz and over, mine jammed up a few times when i first got it but it was the load weight.
__________________
Semper paratus.....virtute et armis
MrWray is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:50 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ShagNasty1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,526
Liked 461 Times on 267 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWray
I have a Stoeger M2000 semi auto "Defense" model, i know that you need to use loads 1oz and over, mine jammed up a few times when i first got it but it was the load weight.
Awesome! I'll run a couple hundred through it again this weekend when I get a few free hours before work. Does yours handle lighter loads now or do you still have to use over 1oz loads?
ShagNasty1001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:01 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MrWray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 6,428
Liked 1040 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShagNasty1001

Awesome! I'll run a couple hundred through it again this weekend when I get a few free hours before work. Does yours handle lighter loads now or do you still have to use over 1oz loads?
No, only use 1oz and above


__________________
Semper paratus.....virtute et armis
MrWray is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
STOEGER cougars akers06 Semi-Auto Handguns 25 05-18-2012 03:49 PM
STOEGER m3500 akers06 General Shotgun Discussion 11 04-28-2012 12:32 PM
Benelli Vs. Stoeger tw1012 General Shotgun Discussion 6 02-08-2011 03:52 PM
New Stoeger Cougar in 45 acp. DaveShooter Semi-Auto Handguns 15 01-24-2010 03:53 AM
stoeger laynejc General Shotgun Discussion 2 03-23-2009 09:42 AM



Newest Threads