Stevens 5100 double barrel - I need help
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Stevens 5100 double barrel - I need help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2010, 07:07 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Stevens 5100 double barrel - I need help

Hello,

As a favor to my father-in-law I've been restoring his 1949 Stevens 5100 double barrel side-by-side. I disassembled it and sent the metal off to be re-blued and ordered new stocks from Boyd’s. I did not disassemble the receiver portion.

I’ve got it all back together yesterday but in testing it unloaded I can’t seem to figure out how the triggers/hammers get cocked after firing. If I remove the stock I can access the hammers and pull those back and it resets the trigger. But if I dry-fire it, break open the barrels to simulate a reload, and close the barrels again, the triggers don’t reset.

I’ve never worked on a shotgun before, only using my 870 for light hunting. Any advice on how this is supposed to work would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-15-2010, 03:40 PM   #2