the skeet and trap thread - Page 24
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > the skeet and trap thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2014, 08:14 AM   #231
disappointed & disgusted, But DETERMINED...
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3380 Times on 2286 Posts
Likes Given: 710

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonzilla View Post
I don't have much experience w cleaning a SXS but I have extensive experience cleaning recoil and gas operated guns. My Rem 870 - 20 ga pump is a royal PIA to reassemble. Left slide rail - click, right slide rail - click seems to take 3 hands and a vice to accomplish. I even talked to Remington about it and they said the smaller receiver on the 20 ga has little room for error. Reassembly can be quite a chore to accomplish but they do come apart in seconds.

I suppose I am rarely "sane" by Bobski's definition. I just run a snake down the barrel and wipe the gun down. Beretta's handbook - don't need to disassemble bolt n trigger group until 500 rd mark. If the gun is working running fine, I have been known to let her go even farther. Rem 1100 have a good reputation for running a long time w min maintenance. Benelli's also have good rep as long as you use the right ammunition. (some can't cycle light loads)

Being X Military - I HATE cleaning weapons and if the gun is tempermental or and won't run dirty, I will not buy it. I've known some people who have shot a pump for 20 years and never fully disassembled for one reason or another.

Gonz, that's Funny, But this Here Ex-Aviator loves Cleaning Guns!

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

"The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather in a lack of will." Vince Lombardi

"No One, and I MEAN NO ONE Craps on me and Gets away with it!!! Those days are gone...