Shotguns vs. Pistols: Home Defense
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Shotguns vs. Pistols: Home Defense

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 06:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Shotguns vs. Pistols: Home Defense

You're in bed, falling asleep, when you're suddenly awoken by a loud crash downstairs. Your home is being invaded, you have to stop it, since police response times range anywhere from five to thirty minutes, more than enough time in which to die. My question is: Which is better for home defense, a shotgun (Remington 870, for example), or a pistol (Colt M1911)? I'm just learning about firearms, but it seems to me that a shotgun would have more stopping power to a soft object like a man, and less penetration of hard objects like walls, making it more lethal to the target and less likely to accidentally kill your neighbors. Also, in terms of personal opinion, I think shotguns are far more intimidating, don't you?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-01-2011, 06:43 AM   #2
No Longer a NY Resident.
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1577 Times on 964 Posts
Likes Given: 8141

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven_Mont View Post