Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Shotguns vs. Pistols: Home Defense (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/shotguns-vs-pistols-home-defense-52851/)

Steven_Mont 12-01-2011 06:26 AM

Shotguns vs. Pistols: Home Defense

You're in bed, falling asleep, when you're suddenly awoken by a loud crash downstairs. Your home is being invaded, you have to stop it, since police response times range anywhere from five to thirty minutes, more than enough time in which to die. My question is: Which is better for home defense, a shotgun (Remington 870, for example), or a pistol (Colt M1911)? I'm just learning about firearms, but it seems to me that a shotgun would have more stopping power to a soft object like a man, and less penetration of hard objects like walls, making it more lethal to the target and less likely to accidentally kill your neighbors. Also, in terms of personal opinion, I think shotguns are far more intimidating, don't you?

kfox75 12-01-2011 06:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven_Mont (Post 640763)
You're in bed, falling asleep, when you're suddenly awoken by a loud crash downstairs. Your home is being invaded, you have to stop it, since police response times range anywhere from five to thirty minutes, more than enough time in which to die. My question is: Which is better for home defense, a shotgun (Remington 870, for example), or a pistol (Colt M1911)? I'm just learning about firearms, but it seems to me that a shotgun would have more stopping power to a soft object like a man, and less penetration of hard objects like walls, making it more lethal to the target and less likely to accidentally kill your neighbors. Also, in terms of personal opinion, I think shotguns are far more intimidating, don't you?