Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Shotgun help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 03:14 AM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 155 Times on 114 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Shotgun help

I am new to shotguns and would like to know some things. I normally just shoot rifle and handguns, I rarely shoot my dads savage fox 12ga. and would like to know the difference between the different types of shotgun ammo. I am also considering buying a mossberg 500 for home defense and to start skeet shooting. I looked at the package they have that comes with an 18" barrel and 28" barrel, can you shoot slugs out of these barrels, such as Hornady TAP? Also what are some home defense round suggestions?

http://www.tombstonetactical.com/catalog/mossberg/500-combo-shotgun-12-ga-28in-mc-18in-cb-black/

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-12-2012, 03:25 AM   #2
Deader Bears=Better Bears
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 5634 Times on 3313 Posts
Likes Given: 4718

The "choke" determines if shooting slugs will be damaging or dangerous. The shorter HD barrels are often "cylinder bore" or unchoked and would be fine for slugs (have shot many from mine). The longer barrels for bird hunting or trap are not really suitable for slugs. There are barrels with rifling to make your slug shooting more accurate; they usually have rifle type sights instead of bead sights (deer hunting in restricted states/shotgun only areas).