Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Shotgun help (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/shotgun-help-76193/)

95sniper 11-12-2012 03:14 AM

Shotgun help

I am new to shotguns and would like to know some things. I normally just shoot rifle and handguns, I rarely shoot my dads savage fox 12ga. and would like to know the difference between the different types of shotgun ammo. I am also considering buying a mossberg 500 for home defense and to start skeet shooting. I looked at the package they have that comes with an 18" barrel and 28" barrel, can you shoot slugs out of these barrels, such as Hornady TAP? Also what are some home defense round suggestions?

http://www.tombstonetactical.com/catalog/mossberg/500-combo-shotgun-12-ga-28in-mc-18in-cb-black/

orangello 11-12-2012 03:25 AM

The "choke" determines if shooting slugs will be damaging or dangerous. The shorter HD barrels are often "cylinder bore" or unchoked and would be fine for slugs (have shot many from mine). The longer barrels for bird hunting or trap are not really suitable for slugs. There are barrels with rifling to make your slug shooting more accurate; they usually have rifle type sights instead of bead sights (deer hunting in restricted states/shotgun only areas).

My mossberg 500 is so old that the long barrel is made in "modified choke" size. The newer shotguns usually have removable chokes that screw in the end of the barrel. The choke tightens up the pattern of shot loads to make for a tighter mass of shot/pellets at a longer distance.

basically

95sniper 11-12-2012 03:35 AM

How does the choke work?

Axxe55 11-12-2012 03:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 95sniper (Post 1011124)
How does the choke work?