Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Saiga 12 FTF (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/saiga-12-ftf-89156/)

Rustler07 04-19-2013 07:05 PM

Saiga 12 FTF

Hi Guys,

I just got my Saiga 12 about 3 weeks ago so I am still learning how this gun works. I have already converted fire control group and replace the stock and all. Now I also know about how Saigas tend to not run weak rounds well so I also bought and auto plug by TAC 47. The first time I shot it with Winchester buck shot and it ran well. A few turns on auto plug and it ran smooth. So I took it out today and ran Federal slugs through it and I was having FTF issues. I put in the Winchester back in that ran fine the first time and it was doing the same. Now the FTF were not every time I could get 3 to 4 shots off and then it would not fire. The rounds looked like they seated fully and nothing but a click from the trigger. I removed the round and cycled the gun again and it would work like I said 3 to 4 more rounds and then FTF. Any hints you can give would be very much appreciated.

kfox75 04-19-2013 10:52 PM

On your FTF rounds, was there a strike mark on the primer? When was the last time the shotgun was cleaned, and was the bolt cleaned, oiled, and wiped down after you test fire session? That is where I would start. Your firing pin could be gunked up, or your trigger assembly might be out of whack. I would start with a thorough cleaning first, then a test fire. Beyond that, no ideas. My entire amoukt of experience with Saigas is I have seen one at my LGS. Best of luck.

1911love 04-20-2013 05:08 AM