Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Remington 870 20ga.= 12ga. add ons? and PC (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/remington-870-20ga-12ga-add-ons-pc-12744/)

dirtbikingdad 04-10-2009 05:25 AM

Remington 870 20ga.= 12ga. add ons? and PC

Noob here!

I just bought a used 20 gauge Remington 870 Express with the usual wear and tear with the wooden look stocks and the rear being a youth. I thought it would make a great HD weapon, being easy to handle and still be stout enough to stop invaders. So, my questions are:

1. I've read where the youth stock is great for HD, but I kinda want to jazz it up some. Are all the stocks, fore and aft the same for 20's and 12's? It seems like some are and some aren't. Or, perhaps they feel the 12's are the only ones worth converting to tactical?

2. While I will probably never hunt with the gun, I'm not sure if I want to cut the barrel. However, if I cheap out and do, where is the 18" measured from (even though I won't go that short as I want to install a magazine extension)? Also, since my barrel has a removable choke, is this barrel really worth keeping and not cutting? Also, if I do cut it, what do I do with the top rail? It tapers on the end right now and if I taper it myself the parkerized finish is gone.

3. Finally, are the nylon stocks any good? I'm sure some are better than others. Any suggestions? I saw that Remington has some of the tactical fore and aft stocks that I am sure are really nice, however, I could not find them for sale on the Remington website.