rem. 870 jamming

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > rem. 870 jamming

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2007, 07:18 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default rem. 870 jamming

ok, let me start by saying i am very new to firearms so this may seem like a dum question. i was shooting clays with my remington 870 12ga. today and it kept jamming. every 5 rounds at least one would get stuck. i couldnt pull the for-end back. i would have to wiggle it for a while to get it to eject the shell. i'm sure its something simple (i hope) but has anyone had this problem before? also, are there any websites that tells how to take apart and clean this gun. i dont know how to take it apart. (that was hard to admit) im sure after two boxes of clays its due for a good cleaning.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-02-2007, 12:27 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2831 Times on 1480 Posts
Likes Given: 251

Default jamming

What kind of ammo? What did the hulls look like after you got them out? I would look at two things, Detail cleaning or bad ammo. If the brass cracked in the chamber or had some corrosion it can be hard to extract.

Old 09-04-2007, 07:16 PM   #3

as far as ammo i was using winchester "super speed" or something like that i dont remember for sure. my friend said it was low brass (whatever that means) and it didnt work well in his gun. but his gun didnt jam up either. the hulls looked fine, everything looked normal. could it be that something is loose in my gun?

Old 09-06-2007, 07:04 PM   #4