Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   rem. 870 jamming (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/rem-870-jamming-1867/)

huckleberry 09-01-2007 07:18 PM

rem. 870 jamming

ok, let me start by saying i am very new to firearms so this may seem like a dum question. i was shooting clays with my remington 870 12ga. today and it kept jamming. every 5 rounds at least one would get stuck. i couldnt pull the for-end back. i would have to wiggle it for a while to get it to eject the shell. i'm sure its something simple (i hope) but has anyone had this problem before? also, are there any websites that tells how to take apart and clean this gun. i dont know how to take it apart. (that was hard to admit):o im sure after two boxes of clays its due for a good cleaning.

robocop10mm 09-02-2007 12:27 PM

jamming

What kind of ammo? What did the hulls look like after you got them out? I would look at two things, Detail cleaning or bad ammo. If the brass cracked in the chamber or had some corrosion it can be hard to extract.

huckleberry 09-04-2007 07:16 PM

as far as ammo i was using winchester "super speed" or something like that i dont remember for sure. my friend said it was low brass (whatever that means) and it didnt work well in his gun. but his gun didnt jam up either. the hulls looked fine, everything looked normal. could it be that something is loose in my gun?

TheYellowDark 09-06-2007 07:04 PM

Let us know if you get the same result after cleaning or using different amo.

huckleberry 09-06-2007 07:14 PM

ok, i will, thaks

UnBound 09-06-2007 09:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by huckleberry (Post 7853)