Rem 870 ? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Rem 870 ?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 05:09 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ItsmeShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I got the real deal hard copy of the 870 manual right beside me and page 17 is the parts list.

__________________

"There's not too many things, a man can't fix, with a couple hundred rounds, and his 30-06."

ItsmeShane is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 05:41 PM   #12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 64
Default

ok on page 17 between line 2 and 3 there is a note all barrels (same gauge) are interchangeable without adjustment. only thing is mine says ( some gauges)

__________________
howquig is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:53 PM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
m72law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,316
Liked 143 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 766

Default

even if you could put a 12gauge barrel on the 20gauge receiver...i doubt you could load 12gauge shells into the magazine tube??

__________________
m72law is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:40 PM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Default

I own a 870 Super Mag in 12gauge..I can swap barrels that are the same gauge..I can swap a 12g 2 3/4 or 3in barrel, but you can't swap a 3 1/2 barrel on a 870 made for 2 3/4 and 3 in..I can put on a fully rifled slug barrel made for 3in on my gun. I looked on the Remington Web site for the info. If you have the Super Mag you can swap down to the other barrels but you can't swap up...Make sense ?? If you have any questions goto the Rem web site and look up shotguns and there is a section on Barrel swaps.

If you have a 12 gauge and you want to shoot 20 gauge shells you can buy the adapters that fit in the barrel that will allow you to shoot 20g shells in a 12g..or 16..28..or even 410 shells. I have seen these avertised in magazines...Shotgun News...I don't know how well they will patteren but I know you can buy them. I hope this helps...

__________________
Glock17TJ is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:58 PM   #15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ItsmeShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

im not questioning your statement, but that doesnt make sense on swapping up? I thought a 3 1/2 inch means the size of the chamber, when a shell has been shot and expanded, what does that have to do with the barrell? Me and my brother both have 870s mine is the express his is the super and both of our barrels are the same, it says 3 1/2 for super mag reciever only.

anyone have any input on this?

__________________

"There's not too many things, a man can't fix, with a couple hundred rounds, and his 30-06."

ItsmeShane is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:10 PM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stalkingbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lebanon,Ky
Posts: 3,621
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Your barrel's chamber measures 3" and your brother's barrel's chamber measures 3 1/2". That's the length of the shell after firing. Not only is the receiver longer on your brother's super, but it also has the longer chamber. You cannot put a 3 1/2" barrel on a 3" gun and expect to shoot 3 1/2" shells.

__________________

Sometimes you earthlings REALLY amaze me!

stalkingbear is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:14 PM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ItsmeShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

yea I know I wont be able to shoot 3 1/2" shells, but his gun is a few years older than mine and his barrel has had several thousand shells through it, and i do believe the more shells through a shotgun the better it shoots. I was just going to swap out barrels for turkey shoots just because his barrel has been broken in.

__________________

"There's not too many things, a man can't fix, with a couple hundred rounds, and his 30-06."

ItsmeShane is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:24 PM   #18
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ItsmeShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I dont NEED to do that I know, but im just curious. I really dont have the time to break mine in quite like his is, and when I do have range time, I try to practice with a rifle, because thats what I use in the field a lot more than I use my shotgun.

__________________

"There's not too many things, a man can't fix, with a couple hundred rounds, and his 30-06."

ItsmeShane is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:36 PM   #19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stalkingbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lebanon,Ky
Posts: 3,621
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I havn't noticed shotgun barrels to pattern better after several thousand rounds-to me it seems they pretty much pattern the same. Does your brother's gun have a different choke tube? If so that would account for the different pattern.

__________________

Sometimes you earthlings REALLY amaze me!

stalkingbear is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:38 PM   #20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ItsmeShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

no sir, I actually use .665 H.S. Strut Undertaker. its my tube, but it shoots better with his gun.

__________________

"There's not too many things, a man can't fix, with a couple hundred rounds, and his 30-06."

ItsmeShane is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes