Questions about barrel interchangability
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Questions about barrel interchangability

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 04:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Questions about barrel interchangability

If i get a mossberg 500 mariner 9-shot(20" barrel) or a remington marine magnum(18" barrel) can i put a 26" field barrel on those even though they both have the extended mags?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-27-2009, 03:29 AM   #2

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Ok, I'm just starting to learn about shotguns, so take my advice with a pound of salt.

I've got an extended magazine on my Remington 870 and it doesn't interfere with barrel swaping at all. I've been playing around with both the 20" and 26" barrels.

Now hatred is by far the longest pleasure;
Men love in haste, but they detest at leisure.
- Lord Byron (George Gordon Noel Byron), Don Juan
(canto XII, st. 6)

Old 10-31-2009, 09:31 AM   #3

Yes, you can, at least with the remington, but what would be the point of doing such a thing? Doesn't that defeat the point of buying one in the in the first place?

"the tree of liberty has to be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants...."

"on the seventh day god created the model 700 for killing dinosaurs."

Old 10-31-2009, 10:01 PM   #4
TxG

You cannot put a field barrel on the Mossberg with the extended 9 shot mag unless you go to the trouble of changing out the entire mag tube for their shorter version.

Old 11-01-2009, 04:28 AM   #5