Question about choke tubes
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Question about choke tubes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 11:45 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Question about choke tubes

Hi Friends, Hope everyone had a great Christmas! Got a Maverick 88 for Christmas. Comes with a mod. choke. I'm new to shotguns, and plan to hunt jack rabbits (tuff little boogers). Questions: Can I shoot steel shot through the choke that came with the 88? What choke and shot size would be best for rabbits (6 to 8 pounds)? Read a forum that a guy said a Mod. choke with #4 shot worked great on his neighbors cat (Ha). Thanks, Bernie

It's not the amount of breaths we take in life, but the moments that take our breaths that count.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-28-2011, 01:06 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2865 Times on 1492 Posts
Likes Given: 254

Why would you want to use steel shot when it is less effective than lead? As far as is it safe? Read the owners manual. Most modern shotguns are made to be compatible with non-toxic shot. Shot size depends on size of teh game and range. Larger game or longer ranges = larger shot. Rabbits at 10 feet do not require anything larger than #9. Shot size goes up as range lengthens.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 12-29-2011, 01:41 AM   #3

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

agree completely with robocop10mm...

Old 12-31-2011, 02:00 PM   #4

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote: