Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   New shotgun purchase (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/new-shotgun-purchase-81786/)

Ara 01-19-2013 12:02 AM

New shotgun purchase

Hello all-

I am looking to purchase my 1st shotgun.

I'm looking for something mostly for self defense and occasional target shootings at the Range.

I've narrowed my search to a Remington 870 tactical express and a benelli supernova

I am not an expert in shotguns at all and would really appreciate any input / advise.

I've shot a benelli supernova once and was very impressed by the handling /recoil. I've never shot a 870, hence I really don't know how it feels.

In my area, the price difference between 2 shotguns are $100. I don't mind the difference so long as I know I'm getting a better product.

Any thought / ideas is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Ara

potentialglock 01-19-2013 12:05 AM

Go for the benelli. Higher quality product. Remington has been having quality issues lately

Ara 01-19-2013 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by potentialglock
Go for the benelli. Higher quality product. Remington has been having quality issues lately

Thanks. That's the 2nd comment I heard about Remington today.

akers06 01-19-2013 02:20 AM

Yea go with the benelli for sure they are twice then gun new 870s are but instead of the supernova check out the regular nova not much different and cheaper

Blueguns 01-21-2013 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ara
Hello all-

I'm looking for something mostly for self defense and occasional target shootings at the Range.

I've narrowed my search to a Remington 870 tactical express and a benelli supernova

I am not an expert in shotguns at all and would really appreciate any input / advise.