Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Nef12ga hd?? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/nef12ga-hd-40741/)

smokinbunta 04-03-2011 06:17 PM

Nef12ga hd??

Hi, since im new to guns, only having gotten my FNX-40 a couple weeks ago. I already few the urge to buy my next 1!! And i'm looking for a shoty for HD (i dont hunt and dont really plan on hunting.. maybe some trap shooting tho).

Now I've been looking on the internet only so far and once I've had enough of reading them, i go to the store to find out more. i'm still currently in the internet stage of my research, and i have narrowed it down to the Benelli Nova pump, Mossberg 500SP, or the Remington 870 Express, which all seem to hover around my $400 budget. Until i saw the NEF 12GA having read reviews on it that its pretty much a replica of the 870.. and that its solid for sub $300. i wanted to see if anyone here has experience with it and can confirm that this is worth the time to even consider.

Thanks,
Ray

doctherock 04-03-2011 06:20 PM

I like my Mossberg 500 persuader. Holds 8, 2 3/4 rounds and shoots nice and smooth. I paid $279 at big 5 sports for it.

Gatoragn 04-03-2011 07:03 PM

Nef + h&r

NEF makes good products. I have a Handi Rifle and it is well made. I am pretty sure Marlin is part of the same company.

I cannot give hands on knowledge of the NEF pump shotgun, just that they are a reputable company.

Alchemist 04-03-2011 07:20 PM

I have a 12 ga. Pardner Pump. HD gun for me. It's fine for the price. One thing to know about is that it's stamped - Made in China, Hawk Industries - on the receiver. I don't really have much commentary about that... just a point of information... From what I understand, Remington-Marlin-H&R-NEF are all parts of a large conglomerate now.

smokinbunta 04-03-2011 11:57 PM

Quote: