Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   My First(ish) Shotgun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/my-first-ish-shotgun-43506/)

victorzamora 06-06-2011 05:13 AM

My First(ish) Shotgun

Alright guys, I love these threads so I figured I'd go ahead and start one. I plan on buying the shotgun no later than a month from now. I plan on spending up to $500 on it (I know, not much...but I'm a college student only getting paid by research). The shotguns I've been looking at were a Remington Model 1100, Remington 870 here, a Mossberg 535, and an Investarm 12GA overunder. I've been looking at 12GA, but I wouldn't mind a 20GA (mostly because of my girlfriend). I want it as a mainly skeet/trap gun. It will sit by my nightstand, but the focus WILL be breaking little orange clay disks.

I say that this is my first-ish shotgun because although I've never owned a shotgun, I've shot a shotgun of every action so I can get used to anything...but I've never shot anything so often that I'm used to it. Anywho, let me know what you think.

deathkricket 06-06-2011 05:58 AM

All good shotguns, also may want to give a look into Stoeger O/U's

Stoeger Over & Unders

davemccarthy707 06-06-2011 06:47 AM

The Benelli Nova is an awesome shotty as well.

hiwall 06-06-2011 01:30 PM

My first choice would be the Remington 870. Nothing is as durable.

cddbrowns 06-06-2011 01:35 PM

Honstly, a Mossy 500 is about all anyone would need unless going for the high dollar "Im rich and I shoot clay pigeons" type of thing. No offense intended, I understand the desire for a really nice shotty, I have the same desire, but as a start out "my first shotgun" type thing, you cant go wrong with a Mossy.

Virginian 06-06-2011 01:54 PM