Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Mossberg Combo #54169 Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2010, 03:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default Mossberg Combo #54169 Questions

Hello,

I am very new to guns. I am looking to buy my first, SG for HD...primarily. I thought about going with a Rem 870P due to everything I've read, but it is just too much for me right now.

I went into a gun store and held the Rem 870 and a Moss 500. I like the way the pump feels on the Moss, certainly the price point, so I figured I'd go with what feels right. I even decided that since I don't hunt (will have to change that), I will go cheap this time and give up any chance of a quality trigger group.

See how much schooling this thread has given me for a new member?

So many choices in the 500 family, looking for the right price, I came upon the #54169 combo. http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/few-shotgun-questions-22663/

For the price, $310.00, I can just about afford to replace parts as needed if needed...and upgrade them.

Q.1 I'm wondering why it is so cheap.

It seems that the cheapest Moss 500 I've found has been about $350.00 in the store. One said Special. I think it was a 500 Special. It seemed a fair price for the gun, and fair relative to the retail price I found on the 590A1.

Sorry for the long post. It feels relevant. Anyway, the pump on this combo looks like the pump on the Rems, which felt a little thin for my hand.

Q.2 Does anyone have any experience with this combo? Can you confirm that the pump is going to feel more like the Remington 870 as apposed to that big pump I've seen on other mossbergs? That is probably obvious, but whatever.

Q.3 How much more do you think a dealer will tack on for their spread?

Q.4 Is it possible to get this with a collapsible stock?